|
DOOL Discussion Group
W.E's Post
I just received a long e-mail, but the bottom line is that there is a new virus being generated that will wipe out your C drive. It is not a rumor—here is a link to snopes.com to verify. I didn’t use the link, since I thought maybe THAT was a virus, but I went to snopes.com and it is listed there under viruses.
Snopes
It can be generated with a familiar name from your address book and it says that you have a “Postcard from Hallmark”. DO NOT OPEN this e-mail, but delete it and re-boot your computer.
My post:
When I click on to this site, I type in Y&R, and it automatically goes to this site. The other day when I did this, a porn site came on. After a few seconds, my spyware software came up and told me to shut of my computer at once. There is an international virus by the name of "Trojan" that is infecting many computers. When you log on to this site, make sure it's MD and not something else.






The advice to reboot your computer after receiving the e-mail is not correct. Just delete these types of messages and move on. If you have been infected by a virus, rebooting will not fix it, and if you have not, no further action is needed.
Hope this helps someone ...
Replies: (list all replies)
Attention Virus Warning
We have become aware there is a fraudulent e-mail being sent that says it is coming from UPS and leads the reader to believe that a UPS shipment could not be delivered. The reader is advised to open an attachment reportedly containing a waybill for the shipment to be picked up.
This e-mail attachment contains a virus. We recommend that you do not open the attachment, but delete the e-mail immediately.
UPS may send official notification messages on occasion, but they rarely include attachments. If you receive a notification message that includes an attachment and are in doubt about its authenticity, please contact customerservice@ups.com.
Please note that UPS takes its customer relationships very seriously, but cannot take responsibility for the unauthorized actions of third parties.
This is legitimate I checked it on Snopes.
Replies: (list all replies)





